Botetourt County


Public Administration & Government

About Us

Botetourt County is located in the southwestern portion of the state in the scenic Roanoke Valley of Virginia. Botetourt County, founded in 1770, is historically unique. It was initially formed from Augusta County and it derived its name from Lord Botetourt, who was the Governor of Virginia. After the Revolutionary War, the County’s jurisdiction was extended to the Mississippi River, encompassing what is now West Virginia, Kentucky, Ohio, Indiana, and part of Illinois and Wisconsin.
Botetourt County has a five-member elected Board of Supervisors which oversees most of the county’s government-related operations. The members are chosen from five election districts and a board chairman is elected annually from among those five members.