RVARC and RVTPO Host Multi-modal Event

On Thursday, May 23rd, the Roanoke Valley-Alleghany Regional Commission (RVARC) and the Roanoke Valley Transportation Planning Organization (RVTPO) hosted a multi-modal event in honor of the first annual Celebrate Transportation Day in Virginia. In 2018, the Virginia General Assembly approved the designation of Celebrate Transportation Day, to being in 2019. As outlined in House Joint Resolution HJ 59 2018, Celebrate Transportation Day in Virginia will take place annually on the Thursday before Memorial day.
The celebration consisted of local leaders and residents traveling in multiple modes of transportation including, taking a bus, carpooling, bicycling, walking, and driving alone from the RVARC offices to the Virginia Museum of Transportation. With over 25 in attendance, there was a good mix of RVARC Commissioners, RVTPO Policy Board Members, RVARC staff, Virginia Museum of Transportation staff, and other citizens. 
“The event highlighted many ways people move around the Roanoke Valley-Alleghany Region” says RVARC Director of Transportation, Cristina Finch. “We really appreciate our partners at RIDE Solutions for lending bicycles and at RADAR for providing a bus to help us celebrate transportation.”
The Roanoke Valley-Alleghany Regional Commission conducts transportation planning for the 11 jurisdictions between the Alleghany Highlands, Roanoke Valley and Franklin County/Rocky Mount. The Roanoke Valley Transportation Planning Organization approves urban transportation plans and the programming of federal funds for projects to improve multi-modal transportation in the urban portions of seven localities in the Roanoke Valley. 
More information about regional transportation can be found on the rvarc.org website.

The Roanoke Valley-Alleghany Regional Commission (RVARC) is one of 21 regional planning agencies in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Member governments include the counties of Alleghany, Botetourt, Craig, Franklin and Roanoke; the cities of Covington, Roanoke, and Salem; and the towns of Clifton Forge, Rocky Mount and Vinton. The mission of the Regional Commission is to be a leader in driving collaboration and strategy within our communities on issues that are critical to the economic growth, quality of life, and the sustainability of this region.